PENDULA

My new ‘AKARI’ – PENDULA

PENDULA series 1

PENDULA series

Photo by Howard Johnson

Leaves on Betula Pendula, commonly known as Silver birch in our garden are coming back.
It’s a beautiful tree with white peeling bark on the trunk. And the twigs are slender and pendulous.

庭の白樺の木に緑が戻ってきました。その名が示すように幹は白、細い枝に葉が茂り全体が「鐘」のような形になります。

I introduce a ball shape small light, MARI last year. I applied Jun Mitani’s program.
A combination of straight and curved folded lines create a ball shape. The shape added different taste on my ‘AKARI’ – light.

This time I made 3 pendant lights – PENDULA I, II & III.

以前ご紹介した ’MARI’、数学者三谷純さんが開発されたプログラムを利用させていただいて、織生地を丸く成形、可愛い灯りになりました。
この曲線を生かして今回はペンダントライトに仕立てました。

The fitting was specifically developed and made by FeelLab. Many thanks to FeelLab.
フィッティングはFeelLabさんが開発したものを使わせていただきました。
FeelLabさんのProjectにも参加させていただいています。詳細はこちら

 

<PENDULA III>

PENDULA III   PENDULA tree

PENDULA III is inspired by the image of PENDULA tree.
The black lines represent the slender twigs of silver birch.
PENDULA III、イメージは「白樺」。少し形を整えて
細い枝のイメージを黒い線で入れてみました。

PENDULA I and II have more ball shape, like MARI.
The colours of PENDULA I show the sunset evening sky behind the silver birch.
PENDULA II represents the moon beyond the tree.
PENDULA IとIIはよりMARIに近い形。
夕焼け空の色をよこ糸に入れたPENDULA I。
夜、白樺の向こうに見える月、その月をイメージしたPENDULA II。

PENDULA I

PENDULA I

PENDULA series 2

 

Photo by Howard Johnson

Now I’m showing my work at National Centre of Craft Design (NCCD) in Sleaford with Jennie Parry and some other artists. The exhibition is titled Paper: Beyond the Fold.
I will be the venue for demonstration on June 18th.
Please come and see our work if you are nearby.
このPENDULAを含め、AKARIシリーズの作品と大きなサイズの壁掛けをNCCDで開催中のPaper: Beyond the Foldに出展しています。

NCCD01

         Photo by Jennie Parry

 

 

2 thoughts on “PENDULA

Leave a Reply

